Home » Modern and Post Modern » The Modern and the Postmodern – Week one

The Modern and the Postmodern – Week one

The Modern and the Postmodern – by Michael S. Roth

I must be crazy starting a new MOOC before finishing the two I am already doing. I got dragged in by Kant – fascinating character. So I have started another MOOC really just to find out more about philosophy in a different context. I will have to see if I can keep up with it.

I am going to spend a couple of evenings watching the lectures and then get on with the reading. 

I am four weeks  behind so my week one will really be four weeks. I don;t know how much time I will have to write notes as I am also one assessment behind and the next one is due in 4 day. So the first 4 weeks:-

Week 1 (Feb 4): Why is philosophy relevant to modernity?

Recommended Reading

Jean-Jacques Rousseau, “Discourse on the Arts and Sciences”
Immanuel Kant, “What is Enlightenment?”

Week 2 (Feb 11): What is Enlightenment?

Recommended Reading

Jean-Jacques Rousseau, “Discourse on the Origins of Inequality” 

Week 3 (Feb 18): From Enlightenment to Revolution

Recommended Reading

Karl Marx, “Estranged Labor” from 1844 Manuscripts
Karl Marx and Friedrich Engels, The Communist Manifesto” 
Begin reading Madame Bovary (Modern Library, trans. Lydia Davis)

WRITING ASSIGNMENT – I missed the deadline for this before joining so that is one thing I don’t have to do.

Week 4 (Feb 25): Modernism and Art for Art’s Sake

Recommended Reading

Gustave Flaubert, Madame Bovary  – I am going to start the reading part here and hope that I can catch up with the rest later. 

WRITING ASSIGNMENT

Compare the role of historical progress in the ideas of two of the following: Kant, Rousseau, Marx, Flaubert.

OK so maybe I have to do some other reading before I get on to Madame Bovary. I think it will have to be Kant who I have already read a lot about and Flaubert as I’ve already read the book hopefully not too long ago that I have forgotten it.

 

8 Comments

  1. Nat Nelson says:

    Good luck. I did look at this one but I am already doing three, not sure I could do many more without handing in my resignation!

    • Louise Taylor says:

      Thanks Nat. I have finished the EDC course now so I think I can manage 2 and still do the day job.

  2. […] The Modern and the Postmodern – Week one (louisecharente.wordpress.com) […]

  3. severalfourmany says:

    I just signed up today but managed to turn in a writing assignment. Looks pretty interesting going forward. Wish I had heard about it earlier.

    • Louise Taylor says:

      I turned in my assignment but I don’t think it is very good. Did it a bit on the fly.
      Nice to meet you 🙂

  4. […] The Modern and the Postmodern – Week one (louisecharente.wordpress.com) […]

  5. upspiral says:

    I’ve been enjoying this course myself. We are really lucky to be able to sit in on Professor Roth’s lectures, he really breathes life into the subject. Good luck catching up, it will be worth the cramming.

    • Louise Taylor says:

      I think I am up to date. I did a very quick paper on Flaubert and Kant and got it in just on time. It was no work of art or mind.
      Enjoying reading Baudelaire now.
      Looks like we will be able to call you Jacob by the end of the course.

Leave a Reply

